NL Series Logo
2023 Tommy Williams Open Results

Congratulations to all the participants that joined us for the Tommy Williams provincial championships!  Most of the tournament was forced in doors due to rain, we thank both Riverdale and Greenbelt for hosting.

Special thanks to:

  • Dennis Keaveney for organizing the tournament
  • Andy Ploughman for helping with organization and anything else that needed to be taken on
  • Jess Norris for her help planning the tournament and personally roll-drying Riverdale to ensure some outdoor play on Saturday
  • Adrian Bradley, Egan Woolfrey and Eva-Lynn Rice for acting as Referee's for the Junior Under 11 tournament
  • Colette Phillips for being our tournament photographer.

Congratulations to our winners in each of our major categories:

  • Men's Singles: Liam Drover-Mattinen with a 6-0, 6-3 victory over Declan Walsh
  • Women's Singles: Samantha Prado with a 6-4, 6-2 victory over Mia Waye
  • Men's Doubles: Dennis Keaveney / Declan Walsh with a 6-2, 6-1 victory over Liam Drover-Mattinen / Alistair Bath
  • Women's Doubles: Lisa Cook / Jane Kelsey with a 6-2, 6-0 victory over Lina Bouziane / Samantha Prado
  • Mixed Doubles: David Summers / Samantha Vincent with a 6-3, 0-6, 10-8 victory over Egan Woolfrey / Eva-Lynn Rice

And our consolation winners:

  • Men's Singles: Matt Barrington with a 8-4 victory over Darryl Duke
  • Women's Singles: Lina Bouziane with a 8-7 (8-6) victory over Laura Bryant
  • Men's Doubles: Thomas Hawkins / Egan Woolfrey with an 8-3 victory over Isaac Batten / Adrian Bradley
  • Women's Doubles: Patricia Dold / Kristin Walsh with a victory over Laura Bryant / Susan Penney
  • Mixed Doubles: Rob Salsman / Jane Kelsey with a 8-0 victory over Owen Daly / Nancy Daly

And the winners in other categories:

  • Men's 4.0 Singles: Sean Carroll
  • Women's 3.0 Singles: Lina Bouziane
  • Beginner Singles: Wade Qi
  • Junior Singles (under 11): Luke Rumbolt

Check back in a few weeks for photos of the event.


With the conclusion of the provincial championships, we have also concluded the tournament series!  Below are our winners in each of our categories for 2023!  You can find a full ranking on our rankings page. 

  • Men's Singles Winner: Declan Walsh, 344 points ($1000)
  • Men's Singles Runner-Up: Dennis Keaveney, 278 points ($250)
  • Women's Singles Winner: Lisa Cook, 210 points ($1000)
  • Women's Singles Runner-Up: Mia Waye, 166 points ($250)
  • Men's Doubles Top Player: Alistair Bath, 516 points ($250)
  • Men's Doubles Second Place: Declan Walsh, 320 points ($250)
  • Women's Doubles Top Player: Lisa Cook, 330 points ($250)
  • Women's Doubles Second Place: Jane Kelsey, 270 points ($250)
  • Top Club: St. John's Tennis Association, 434 points ($500)

Hope to see you all again next year!

Mailing List Signup

Title Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Become a Sponsor